The Gospel of Christ, Not Chris

youare

Gospel of Self or Gospel of Christ?

Are you living for a Gospel centered on yourself, or are you living for the Gospel, which is centered on Christ. Whether we acknowledge it or not, there are times where we build within the bastions of our minds, a gospel that is not the Gospel of Christ, the Gospel which we accepted, we believed, but a gospel that is of self. This happens when we stop viewing ourselves through the lens of positional truth in Christ, and start focusing on our flesh, finding identity in the lens of lies.

The lies come in many forms. Those times where you fail an assignment and think “I am an idiot”, or when someone pisses you off and you belittle them publicly, even cuss them out in your head. Think about when you have been dumped or a relationship did not pan out and thoughts like “I am not good enough”, “if only I were better” plagued your mind, dictating your views. How often in a day do you get caught up in the comparison game, comparing yourself to other people, feeling like a failure because you focus too much on others successes? I go through each and every one of these, some on a daily basis. When people piss me off, I react back, not like a person who is in Christ, but like someone living in the flesh. The times I have been dumped or a relationship did not work out, I go through a process of telling myself “if only I was better” “had I only been more handsome” “being in Christ is not good enough” and lies of all sorts. And the comparison game, holy mackerel do I excel at comparing myself to others! If comparison were a sport, I would probably be a star player. “If I had that guys body with my brain and personality I would be unstoppable.” “Why do they get that opportunity, I should have it!” “He has a better life than I do, I want his life.” “It’s not fair, they take their family for granted, why can I not have one?” I engage myself in a depression inducing cycle of comparison between myself and others.When I given into thinking like this, any line of thoughts that take my mind off of Christ and focus it on the flesh, I am viewing myself through the gospel of Chris, not the Gospel of Christ.

When we believe anything about ourselves or other people that does not correspond with the truth of Christ inside us, we create a gospel that is false. Whether in thought or action, if we believe any lie that contradicts the Word of God, we are preaching to ourselves a false Gospel. Does that mean we are heretics whom God hates and will take away the salvation of? Not at all! If that were the case we would all be in trouble! What it does mean is that we have to be careful in how we think, because our beliefs will impact how we live. It is like the saying “you are what you eat.” If you eat crap, you are going to feel like crap, your body will become crap. In the same way that you are what you eat, you live what you think. When you think lies, you will live lies. Just like food, take in mental crap, and that crap will have a physical outworking, crap is what will be produced. For the record my goal of this post was not to see how many times I could use the word “crap.” What lies are you presently telling yourself? Whatever lies you presently believe, or self centered gospel you hold to, be intentional to instead pursue truth. If my beliefs are centered on the Gospel of Christ, I will live like Christ, but if they are centered on a gospel of self, a gospel of the flesh, I will live like one who is in the flesh. We do not have to live as slaves to the lies of our flesh, we are free, all we have to do is live as people who have freedom, by believing the truth of Christ! Free people do not need to fight for freedom, the just have to accept and walk in it.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

