Can You Hear the People Sing?

Image

People and Systems

“Come Hell or high water” is not the person I set out to be, but sometimes it feels like there is no other choice. I love my school, but sometimes certain rules and systems are hard for me to understand, especially in the context of Christian establishments. I get them, I really do, I even follow them for the most part, but that still does not keep me from asking why, or from wondering if maybe there is something better. Christian colleges are an anomaly to me. Many say that Christ is the center, the first and foremost, yet so often you see academia and numbers in that place. Christ made disciples before he made scholars. Is education important? YES! I love education and the whole process of learning, but PEOPLE should always come before SYSTEMS. The thing is you can teach ANYBODY, the stuff that is taught here. So if your primary goal is academics, go for it, anybody can learn this stuff, if it is the students spiritual life, then you have to place people before the systems. When you are a Christian school, standards are different than those of a secular. Sure, you can follow the framework and requirements of secular schools, but the core and foundation has to be more than that. One of the things I loved about New Tribes, is while they do take academics seriously, they take students and their spiritual lives even more so. If they had this version of who I am today, then, I would be an ideal student there, yet here at my school I am treated as a renegade, like some deviant rogue, seeking to bring the institution down, when really all I want to do is, do what I need doing to follow God and graduate in the process. The unfortunate reality is, while I did see a few people fall through the cracks at New Tribes, the friends and people I have seen fall through the cracks here have been ten times that. When systems are placed before people, the casualties will always be far greater. Do I love my school? I absolutely love it here! The relationships that have been formed and lessons God has taught me have been tremendous. No school is perfect. While I loved New Tribes, they had their weaknesses just as they did their strengths, and the same is true for the school I am at also. Even in all this I am learning, no matter where I go, or what I do, the good teaches me what to do, and the bad teaches me how to be better. If systems come before people, whether we state it or not, you might as well throw it all out, because Christ did not call us to minister to systems, He calls us to minister to people. Try to change people and you will change systems, try to change systems and you will change neither.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

