Insensitive Men

Image

Insensitive to Sensitivity

Just because girls are more emotional than guys, does not mean they are any more sensitive. Guys often get a bad wrap for being insensitive, where I have known just as many insensitive women as what I have men. Ask any girl you know if women can be insensitive, I am sure most will respond in the affirmative. I think that sensitivity is something that is dependent upon people, not gender.  Women are just as capable of insensitivity as men. That being said, ladies gives us guys a break. I am not going to sit here and say the whole “I am not like other guys” B.S., because I really am. I am just as much a broken, fallen, problematically sensitive dude, just like every other guy, just like every guy, with the only good coming from my life being because of Christ. There are two types of people, male or female, in this world, those who are in Christ and those who are not. While I am in Christ, I still have my downfalls and failures, just like everybody else, and while I may attempt to portray myself as above it all with a rough exterior, I have the capacity for sensitivity like anybody else. When I get hurt, I hurt, when others hurt, I hurt for them. I may not always express it, but those close enough to me can tell you, it is there. My point is that I am a sensitive guy, and this serves as an example regarding the assumptions we make about people. People assume I am not sensitive, because there are things I say and do to make myself appear otherwise, all the while, deep down I can be quite sensitive. I cry when I read Revelation 21 or watch certain films, I become contemplative when I listen to particular songs, my soul experiences joy when I hear about the cool things God is doing in the lives of others, my mind and heart go through sadness when people walk away from the Lord and these are just some of the few things that draws sensitivity out of me. I know what to say when others are discouraged, how to respond to others however they need responding to. I may not always do it, but I know how. People I am close to know this, while those who do not, assume otherwise. This goes the same for girls with guys. They assume guys are not sensitive because they have been constantly told guys are insensitive and since guys are not as emotional or open about their sensitivity, this further validates their claim. When it comes to people, unless we really know them, we often have no clue what is going on in their mind and heart. Do we continue to make assumptions about people we do not know, or do we show sensitivity to folks, even when they show nothing but insensitivity?

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

