Theology and Sherlock Holmes: A Study in Colossians

Image

An Upcoming Sermon

I have been studying a lot lately, between classwork and personal study I have had quite a bit before me, but not enough to keep me from working on a sermon for my upcoming speaking opportunities. I will be speaking at New Tribes Bible Institute over spring break, then again for Emmaus’ student chapel, in March. Pray for me by the way, as I never cease to be completely terrified at each new opportunity to do public speaking. Needless to say I am now at the point where I am putting the sermon, or to sound less archaic “message”, together into the final product. The sermon I am working on is an exposition of Colossians 3:1-4, an overstated, under thought through passage, about being in Christ, and thinking of things above, over things of this earth. One of the key thoughts in the passage comes from verse 2.

Colossians 3:2- “2 Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.”

Taking A Break

As I was working on my sermon the other night I decided to take a break to re-read a bit of A Study in Scarlet, the very first Sherlock Holmes story. That is my life, taking a break from reading only to do some more reading. I enjoy it, and do actually have a life. Everybody who is alive has a life though, so telling an alive person to get a life does not make any sort of sense really. Anyway. Every time I read one of Sherlock’s adventures I often find quotes where I think “gee that is really applicable to the Christian life.” Below, and also seen in the above photograph is one of those quotes.

“I consider that a man’s brain originally is like a little empty attic, and you have to stock it with such furniture as you choose. A fool takes in all the lumber of every sort that he comes across, so that the knowledge which might be useful to him gets crowded out, or at best is jumbled up with a lot of other things, so that he has a difficulty in laying his hands upon it.”

-Sherlock Holmes, A Study in Scarlett

Does Your Attic Need Spring Cleaning?

Reading Doyle’s (Author) quote, it dawned on me how perfect an illustration it was to accompany Colossians 3:2-3. As believers we have to be careful and intentional about what we put in our attics(our minds in case you have not caught up). Are we fools taking in all the lumber we come across (the things that are on earth,) crowding out the useful knowledge (the things that are above), or are we wise about the things we allow our minds to be occupied with? When we allow our minds to become consumed by earthly thinking, philosophies, and ideologies it becomes difficult to lay our hands on the things that matter, knowledge that is useful, and to think like people whose position is in Christ. If we want to live like Christ we have to think like Christ. Our minds are the starting point for our actions, which means what we think about, will impact how we act. Maybe your attic needs cleaning? I know it would not hurt for my attic to be cleaned from time to time. Perhaps there are mass amounts of junk you are holding onto, things you just have never been able to let go or get rid of. We as humans are good and stockpiling negative emotions like past hurts, bitterness and self pity. I know I do that, but part of the transforming work of Christ is that He transforms out minds. It is not easy and sometimes requires help from other sources or people, but just because something is not easy, does not mean it cannot be done. It could even be that you know quite a bit about quite a little. What I mean by this is the time and thinking we waste on that which in terms of eternity does not matter. I cannot tell you how much useless trivia is rambling around in my brain. What about those moments when life is not going so great, and instead of turning our minds to truth we turn to lies, to earthly thinking. Why do I sometimes listen to Radiohead when I am depressed instead of listening to the Word of God? My point here is simply, think about what you think about, it is that easy. Let us people whose attics are archives of the things that are above and not dusty boxes of things regarding the earth. Our dependence upon Christ should be for the mental just as much as it is the physical.

For the previous Theology and Sherlock Holmes, click the link below!
https://chronologyofchris.wordpress.com/2014/01/19/theology-according-to-sherlock/

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Theology and Sherlock Holmes: A Study in Colossians

  1. Pingback: Theology and Sherlock Holmes: The Sign of Poor…Exegesis | Living A Life Not A Lifestyle . . .

Leave a Reply

