From the Outside Looking In

Image

The Marble Chapel

One of the unique features of Emmaus Bible College (my school) is that the building has not always been an institution of protestant Christian education, but once was a Catholic Seminary. If you could say one thing about Catholics is that they love their buildings, which means the building Emmaus occupies is attractive, as far as buildings go. I am not, nor do I claim to be, an aficionado of buildings or architecture, but if I had to say a building looked pretty good, I would say Emmaus’ building looks pretty good.

In case you were wondering, I have not suddenly developed a fetish for buildings. One of the more prominent locations at Emmaus is a place called the Marble Chapel. What is the Marble Chapel? The Marble Chapel is exactly what it sounds like, a chapel composed of mostly marble, with a little stained glass, and a bit of wood for good measure. What stands out to me is not the room, but what happens concerning the room, which is for the most part nothing. The hallway which runs along the sides of the Marble Chapel is one of few primary routes in which people navigate their way around Emmaus. Other than a few glimpses, a person really cannot see much of the Marble Chapel from the hallway. As rooms go, the Marble Chapel is one of the places that rarely gets used and many often do not find their selves wandering into. I would say that is true for myself anyway. Time after time I have walked past it without even a second thought. What is cool are the moments, as few as they are, that I do walk in. As I look around the Marble Chapel I am always remind of not only its beauty, but how cool it really is and the goodness it contains. Every day I walk by such an awesome place without even thinking about it, I take it for granted. As I sat in the Marble Chapel today to look at the stained glass, this whole idea reminded me of something; it reminded me of my relationship with God.

My relationship with God is at times very much like my relationship with the Marble Chapel, except not Catholic. It is like my relationship with God in that I often forget about Him, I walk by Him day after day, only concerned with where I am going more than I am where He is. He becomes a mere footnote in the story of my life. Constantly and consistently I pass by Him, missing out on the beauty and wonder He contains. In all of this though He never leaves, no matter how long ignore Him, He is always right there waiting for me.  At the same time those moments when I interact with Him, when I acknowledge Him, walking back into His fellowship, I realize the goodness I have missed out on, not to mention what I have taken for granted. I have spent so much of my life on the outside looking in, when all I ever needed was always waiting there all along. While following God may not always be comfortable, easy, or even safe, it is, as I often have to remind myself, worth it. God is not a cold, hard, piece of architecture, He is God, and He wants us to walk within the freedom He gives, not the boundaries of ourselves we so often try to live.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

