When Dragons are a Drag

dragfin2

“Fairytales don’t tell children that dragons exist; children already know that dragons exist. Fairytales tell children that dragons can be killed.”

― G.K. Chesterton

What dragons will you face in the week ahead? What dragons are you facing now? Maybe your dragon is a Biology test that you are sure you will fail or getting up for church in the morning (in my case three and a half hours from now). Your dragon might possibly be a full schedule, where you have no idea how you will do all that needs doing. The dragon you face may be shaped like having to pay a bill, or if you are in a real tough spot, finding your next meal. Dragons come in all shapes, sizes, genders, colors, flavors and varieties, yet regardless the form a dragon may take, one truth remains consistent about them; they can be defeated. This post is just a reminder that Mr. Chesterton gave to me, and that I am now giving to you. Whatever dragons come your way, they can be defeated. Now, do not take this as some sort of sappy, feel good, sentimental babbling, because honestly, some dragons will beat us. Sometimes WE WILL BE BEATEN by the dragons we face. What is important to remember is, while we may be beaten that does not mean we will be defeated. The days we win, we win, and we have to take joy in victory. The days we lose, we lose, and we have to take joy, in the grace that has been given, despite our losing, knowing eternally, victory is still ours in Him. We do not have to fight for victory, because Christ has already made us victorious; we can live as victors! Keep fighting, the war is won, the battles are nothing more than a means to getting to the end. Our dragons may not be literal and our battles only figurative, but regardless of whether or not what we face is physical, mental or spiritual, being in Christ gives us everything we need for total victory, even when we think we are defeated.

(Dragon illustration is “Smaug” by J.R.R. Tolkien)

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Dragons are a Drag

  1. I was defeated today, certain dragons I faced did overcome me. As much as I wish it were not so, the things I write in this blog I say from experience, not just theory. Today I got my butt kicked, I was not a hero, and I most certainly at times was not the person whom Christ says I am. In this moment I have to take my own advice, just because I was defeated two seconds ago does not mean I will be defeated four seconds from now. His grace truly is enough, and while I go to bed defeated, I would rather acknowledge my defeat knowing I am still in Christ, than deny it thinking I am strong enough in myself.

    To the day to come,
    -Chris

    Like

Leave a Reply

