Love Drunk

Image

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”
―C.S Lewis, The Four Loves

Love Wins

Today has been a wonderful day. This is my first Valentine’s Day where I have intentionally resisted thinking about the relationships I do not have, and focused on the ones I do. The only thing SAD part of what people are calling “Singles Awareness Day” are the people who view it that way. It is amazing to think how many people you love or who love you when you really concentrate of it. The Lord has blessed me greatly showing His love to me through His son, and through those who are in Him. I truly believe a person cannot fully love and experience love unless they are in Christ. If I wanted to, I could think of all the love I have lost between my grandparents, ex-girlfriends, other friendships, and so forth, but what has that ever accomplished for me? Nothing! While I have lost a lot of love in this life, the Love He has given me is that much more. John 3:16 gets quoted SOOOO much, but think about the implications of it, ” For GOD so LOVED the WORLD, that He GAVE His only SON, that WHOEVER BELIEVES in Him should not PERISH, but have ETERNAL LIFE.” How often do we actually think about this verse? It is the verses we have heard a million times, that we think we have gotten down, that we actually need to hear a million more. God, the God, came to Earth as a lowly man, you and I would never do that, because He loved us, because He wanted to save us. What more love do we need! Why do we get so bent out of shape of the fact that we cannot find Earthly love when heavenly love is always right here waiting?! Even if no one on this Earth loves us we still have the love of the creator, of our true Father. I may not always live like this, trust me I really do not, but I know on days like today, when the rubber of my theology hits the road of life, I sure as hell believe it, and that is what keeps me moving forward. Our focus today, and every day really, should be on the love we have in God not man. Seek out the people you love and who love you today, thank God for the ability for that love, and express that love to them. Make today about someone other than you because He made Himself about people other than Him.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

