13 to 14

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.

Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”

― Neil Gaiman

New Year, Old Me

Other than a new episode of Sherlock (yes I watch a television show every few millennia) I really do not put much stock into New Years. So I figured, with nothing better to do, why not put my two sense into this whole “New Year’s” nonsense anyway? As twenty thirteen leaves and twenty fourteen begins, the year may change but our lives do not. People get too caught up in the idea of everything being new, forgetting that everything is actually old.  The New Year does not make us new people, a fact seen in the success rate of resolutions many make. According to the Guardian, 78% of people, who make New Year’s resolutions worldwide, eventually fail at upholding them. Whether or not this is accurate, we all know people that have fallen, defeated, at the feet of a New Year’s resolution. Maybe even you yourself have been there? I think I tried it once. I must have failed so badly making a resolution, my mind has chosen to block it out. On some level the statistic more or less speaks for itself and the whole validity of New Year’s resolutions, does it not? Accuracy or not there is something to be said for it.

The New Year is not magic, nor does it give us a special ability to suddenly change whatever aspect of our lifestyle we feel needs changing? So then what is the point of a new year? Nothing really just a sign of aging or a measurement of time honestly. The neat, keen, and groovy thing is though, it does not take a year change for a life change. On a bigger scale it does not even take a change in location, position, marital status, for a life change either. All we need to experience true change and a new us is (Overused Cliché in 5, 4, 3, 2 , 1. Overused Cliché Now) our walk with the Lord. Yes, back to that again, and in all reality we should never stop going back to this seemingly overstated fact. For supposedly complex people we seem to miss a lot of the simple concepts. Walking with the Lord allows us to change, at any second of any moment of the year, He is the source of our transformation, not the passing of another year. The great thing about that is, we do not have to wait for the ball to fall, a resolution to be made, or another year to roll around, all we need is now.

I think the appeal of the New Year is the idea,whether we realize it or not, is the delusion give that we can do something, make some change, on our own, without help from anybody, but ourselves . The problem is once we fail at whatever goals we set for ourselves, we simply put that failure in the back of our mind with the statement “I can just try again next year”, and never actually learn or do anything. The stakes aren’t high and the loss is low. Everything from diets, to pursuing God, we bind ourselves to tidy lists that will in the end leave us feeling miserable and like failures. Not only that, but many even try to process over and over again. Definition of insanity anyone? I am not knocking goals by any means, what I am knocking is the approach we take to achieving our goals and suggesting that maybe there is a better way to change or achieve them.

A relevant to all my babbling. You have two columns, a list of struggles, goals, etc, that you want to deal with, and in the next column you have Christ. As you focus on the list your focus becomes less and less on Christ and more on a sort of man-made law. I want to do this, I want to achieve that, I want to be this, I want to deal with that, I , I, I , I, I, until finally, I realize, I cannot do any of it. I CAN’T DO ANYTHING! I try and try and it never works. At that point instead of then focusing on Christ you throw in the towel and wait for another time. By not trusting in Christ and what He wants to do in our lives, we develop a self-centered opinion on what we think our lives should be like, ultimately getting nowhere.

What does God’s Word show me about inconsistencies in my life, what do other believers see me struggling with, where have I seen opportunities to grow in an area, when has the Lord spoke and I not listened?  Discovering what God wants to do in our lives is not rocket science, and it is rather funny how often we treat it as such. As we move into a new year how about a new way of viewing our walk with Christ, and what that entails. Why not lean on Him and not ourselves for an abundant life and a way of experiencing Him like we never have before? It is absolutely impossible to walk with Him and not be transformed. Absolutely impossible and you can take that to the bank. If we are not being transformed, maybe we are not as close to Him as what we thought? Salvation was only the beginning, the journey is the rest of life.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

