Labelmaker

label

Labelled

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about labels we wear and give to people. I am talking about figurative labels,the ways in which we define ourselves and other people. At some point or another we have all been labelled, heck, we may even at times be the ones who do the labeling. Each label, given or taken, is meant to describe elements of who a person is or how they are perceived, some of these true, others not so much. The problem with labels is that they, big or small, subtract from what truly defines us. This world provides us with a plethora of names, an abundance of titles, a cornucopia of labels, all intended to distract from our true definition in Christ.

Our flesh finds no difficulty in finding labels for us. My flesh loves trying to label me based of insecurities, using words like Bi-Polar, abandoned, alone, and even fat, in attempts to cause me to be distracted from who I am in Christ. Labels can also seem positive. If we are honest, how many of us try to define ourselves by achievements and abilities over our position in Christ? I may be smart, but my intelligence should not define me.The result of accepting such labels, is an undermining of the reality and work of Christ in our lives. What could be more toxic than such a blatant denial of Christ inside of you? How we view ourselves should be based of who we are, not what we do. I may do things as a result of my strengths or weaknesses, but what I do in myself, should never come before who I am in Christ.

Definition of Position

We allow labels to enter our lives is because we either forget or become temporarily unconvinced of the reality of Jesus Christ living in us. It is in these moments we choose to ignore the transforming power of sanctification and the amazing things the Lord has done in our lives. We constantly hear about Christ in us, but how often do we actually think on, believe, and apply that truth?! I would say not as much as we should, and only half as much as we tell ourselves we would like. In the moments that I label myself, I listen to what my flesh says I should be, and ignore who Christ says I am. The labels of our flesh do nothing more than blind us from our  reality in Christ. We have to be more intentional about believing who we are in Christ, if we want to be less susceptible to accepting the labels of our flesh.

Until we peel off our labels, the life we have in Christ will feel incomplete. We say our definition is in Christ, but do we actually believe it? By no means am I perfect and always see myself in Him, I am reminded of that on a constant and continuous basis. What I have to remember though, being a Christian not about failing in myself, it is about the success I have in Him. We do not need to fight for freedom, we are already free! I may at times act like a hypocrite, a grump, or a jerk, I may think the worst of myself and of everyone else, but  being in Christ how I act, does not define who I am, only He does. Our definition is in Christ, not in labels our flesh attempts using to define us.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Identity, Kierkegaard Label Quote, Self-Image and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Labelmaker

  1. tfreeman.org says:

    This possibly your best article yet! I like it a lot! Good insights with practical steps! Thanks – I think we all need this reminder for dealing with ourselves!

    As someone who is analytical, I frequently categorize people. Mike Winters has told me several times, “Stop analyzing me, Thomas.” So I need this reminder for dealing with others as well as myself! Thanks!

    Like

  2. Camie Treptau says:

    Proud to know you, proud to call you friend, proud of you for allowing God to continue to grow you. Great read – and so powerful!!

    Like

  3. Great. Such a true idea…simplistic in structure. Thanks for writing it down for us to glean from….

    Like

Leave a Reply

