Beyond the Valley of Three Horses

Well here were are, another semester, caput! The wonderful emphasis and sounds that accompany the word “caput” really are not there when you try to deliver it via text. Shame. So as you may have guessed my semester has ended. That is to be expected right? No expulsions, growth, deeper friendships, no hearts broken too deep, so all in all I guess you could say, a job well done. At least for the most part. Still it is hard to say goodbye even though the goodbye is not permanent. Over the past two years Emmaus has been my  permanent residence so to have to pack up and leave for three months is a trying thing. Most importantly it is hardest to say goodbye to the people there. Goodbye, that awful word we would never have to say if it were not for hello. Sure, some of the people will be there when I return, others not so much, but regardless the case one must move on and see what God has for them next.

“What do you have for me this time?” I spoke this phrase as I stepped out into this deceitful in comparison to other Iowan terrain, valley. In the past camp has been very love hate for me. I have had some of my very best times in life here and at the same time some of my very worst. And yet here I am again. Even though I am sure I have never meant, at the end of each summer I have said to myself “this one was the last” and this is the third time I have eaten my words. I love the people here (again we go back to people),the people here are among some of the finest I have met, truly serving in ministry, and proving American missionaries do exist. On top of that I always seem to be taught and stretched like nowhere else. I guess in totality that really is my theme for this summer “what do you have for me this time?”

As I go into this summer I have intentionally decided on some goals in which I would like to see the Lord work in my mind and heart. The first of these is people. I am still learning to love people the way Christ would have me love them. This is important since one I want to be a teacher and two want to be in vocational ministry to teach people. It is kind of a big deal that I learn how to love others better. The second is church. Ever since I have become a believer I have been in an ongoing battle as to why “organized church” matters and is important. No, do not send me your arguments or why you think I am wrong (I know in some respects I am wrong), I have heard them all, and I truly am thinking on them. So I want to further learn as to why it is so and find a heart toward organized churches and being a part of one. The third of these is continued learning of tact and sensitivity. Again when it comes to ministry these are two vital traits to acquire and perform. If you could pray for me in these areas that would be baller and I would be forever in your debt.

There you have it, an update regarding my life, universe and everything. Like always I have no idea what is going to happen and summers at camp often become a major wildcard. I do know this place has a special kind of something and I have seen God work not only in my life here but in the lives of so many others. My prayer is that whatever He has for me, however He has it I will be open, willing and accepting of His work. I know none of this has been heavy theologically or even philosophically, but sometimes life is just life, and right now for me that is what life is. Summer, the time where the rubber of school and  theology hits the road of life and living. 

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beyond the Valley of Three Horses

  1. Dude, I’m glad you’re back blogging and sharing your mind. It’s clear to me that God’s still working in you and that you want to follow Him and grow in His will. God bless, bro!
    -Fresh

    Like

Leave a Reply

