Jekyll and Hyde

I remember when I was a child reading the Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. The story is about a doctor who has an evil free of a conscious second person whom he transforms into. In certain ways the story reminds me of being a Christian. The character of Jekyll is an awesome illustration for a believer’s two natures.  Obviously as a Christian we have the ability for the good to win out, unlike Jekyll, but the whole idea of having two sides to who we are. Basic positional truth, as a human Christian until eternity we have two parts within us. The first part is Christ. This is our overarching person, what defines us and makes us right before God. The second part is the flesh. As a result of the fall we still have to deal with the flesh, it does not define us, but we still have to fight it nonetheless. For me I am really struggling with reckoning this to my life. Often I  feel like Jekyll and Hyde myself. One part of me strives to follow Christ, to do good, while the other gives into the flesh playing the role of a hypocrite, a person of the world. I know I am in Christ, but why do we not see it that way? Why do we go out of the the way to condemn fellow believer’s of their flaws, when the truth is we are both better than that. Those of us who act on our flaws are better in that Christ gives us a reason to be something more and those of us who condemn are better in that we have Christ  enabling us to see Christ in others. All we can do is learn and grow. Do you want me to keep telling you I am human, that I do not always follow the things I write in this blog, that in several moments of every day I do not act the way in which Christ would have me act? I am saying this. Here I am. Whatever you want to know about me I will tell you, I show no fear or reservation. What more can one do to show you that they have the flesh still. Would we not be better even to be unbelievers, because it would seem we treat unbelievers more welcoming than believers. If we can love those who do not have Christ in them how much more can we love those who do. I will be the first to admit that I have done my fair share of condemnation, of judgment, of making assumptions when I do not know all the variables towards my brothers and sisters in Christ. Perhaps that is the irony, the very thing I did to others I am now experiencing or recognizing the hurt for myself. Just as we should not allow ourselves to be defined by the flesh we should also not define other believers by theirs. We are human, we know that we have struggles, battles in which we are constantly between Christ and the flesh, so why can we not realize that about other people. We do not have to walk around with the heavy burdens, our Mr. Hydes, holding us back, discouraging us, and ultimately limiting the positional truth and work of Christ in our lives. I want you all to know everything I write I write as a hypocrite, a person who still lives between two worlds, of Christ and of flesh, and any truth in my life or the lives of others, any good work, anything worthwhile is Christ alone. May we look past the still remaining flesh to see the beauty of His work, in His people, in His world. I do not want to look good on paper, I just want to bring the reality of Christ and the work I am witnessing in my life and the lives of others, regardless those moments of my flesh getting in the way. People act by what they are defined by. If we treat believers, our brothers and sisters, as if they are defined by the flesh we should not be surprised when they act like the flesh, but if we treat them by their definition in Christ we can rejoice when they act like Christ. As we deal with our own Mr. Hyde’s as well as the Hyde’s of others, may we recognize underneath that is not who we/they are and because of Christ are so much more. In the end Jekyll’s stronger side, who he potentially really was, Hyde, took over and that is what he became. Our stronger side, who we really are, is Christ, and while it will not be until death that he fully takes over we still have the choice to allow Him to now.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

