A Slightly Bigger Space . . .

Assumable a lot of us allow the world to impact how we view ourselves , how other view us, and possible even how God views us.  Is the a breach of understanding because the mediocre approaches and methods taken in our walks with the Lord or is this something seeded deeper we do not even realize is there. What compromises made over the course of our days invites  infiltration of our mental and spiritual selves? It can be the tiniest thing we succumb to under the guise of “it is just once” or ” it is not causing me to physically sin”. Who knows what or where the worldly definitions outside of Christ we attempt to acquire comes from. All I know is the worldly principles, thoughts, feelings, interests, likes, dislikes, ideologies, philosophies, and so on and so forth, not only hinder who we are in Christ but also provide a tremendous breeding ground for undeveloped and ineffective Christian lives.

First of all before I am not going to dance around this statement and just say that the Gospel is not the most important thing in the life of a believer. It is one important truth in a conglomeration of many regarding the life of a Christian. I have said before and I continue to say that salvation is not the pinnacle, and the understanding we have of it upon acceptance more often than not lay the template of our life in the Spirit.

Worldly principles and Godly principles are two opposing lifestyles and you cannot be both. In each decision, in every choice , we have the option for approach it with one or the other.  Eventually whichever we choose will at some point become the more dominant and depending on which we live, it can either be for the good or the bad.

Before becoming a believer, and for a larger portion of the beginning of my Christian life I took the worldly approach. My worldly indulging came in the form of movies and music. I allowed who I am to be defined by what I listened to and watched.  Proud I stood in what I saw as good taste, when underneath because I did not understand fulfillment in Christ I was empty. Yes most of my music and such did not contain anything dirty, at the same time anything that glorifies sin, no matter what manner it may be, is not worth the compromise. Because I was not fulfilled I turned to media and interests I enjoy and related to, stapling over my position in Christ and definition inconsistent with who I was. After a while those things ceased to fulfill. Consequently instead of turning back to Christ I found others with the same interests. Those others I found were not believers, and so when that did not fulfill,  I progressed to have worldly relationships.  When I accepted the Gospel it was the pinnacle for me being lead to believe that was the ultimate high moment in my life. Not being taught principles of Christian living or what it meant to continue that walk with Christ my zeal faded. Obviously the Lord intervened with the end result being where I am here and now. Unfortunately just because a few make it does not mean that statistic is not still large. Because of my misunderstanding of the Gospel I was left unfulfilled.  To find fulfillment I moved to what seemed harmless, movies, books, music, entertainment, and so on. Proceeding I took it upon myself to find fulfillment in worldly things, relationships, etc. Lastly it came to a head with a severe crisis of faith.  These things start small and eventually move big. Satan want to drug us and delude us, and sadly enough is amazing how little he has to try.

What do we really need in this life?  Does God really care about the music we liked, or the movies we were into? Is it worth it to dress immodestly or in ways to seem appealing to others?  It almost believes me to wonder how much God laughs at us for the things we so invest ourselves into. God does not care how big a fan you are of something or if you know Elvish, because in eternity it is all garbage. How many times a day do we turn on a episode of a show, or watch something on Youtube, when we know we could be spending time with the Lord? Why can a majority of Christians tell you about what happened in Glee or the Office and yet have no idea the things the Lord is doing or wants to do? If we let that door stay open even a little there is a possibility that one day it is going to burst open a lot.  No convictions are as effective as relaxed convictions. It does not matter if it is a movie, or music, or act, if it glorifies sin and is not consistent with someone in Christ it is not worth having or being.

Is it really worth it to allow the world to define us?  Crap answers are ones like “I know I should be praying but I’m not”, or “I want to study the Bible but I am not smart enough”. Yes I said crap because I call things like I see them. If we want something bad enough we can find the drive and motivation for investment in it. How bad do we really want to know God?  How much do we truly want to know His Word?  All you have to do is do it. No seance, summons, ritual, it is nothing like that. We have everything we need to have an abundant, growth filled, walk with the Lord, we just have to do it, even when we do not want it.

Christians have turned Christ into an aspect of their lives when He should be their life. I have probably said that before, and that is ok because I want to say it again. All you have to do is read various believers Facebooks to gather that information. Then you might tell me Facebook is just for fun.  Unfortunately I would proceed to disagree. The things we say and do is and outflow of where were are standing in our life, and often stuff like Facebook is an open door to see exactly what people let define and compose them. All these things will only last for so long, until one day we are before God and He is asking us  what in the world we were thinking. Our walk with the Lord, or our walk with the world dictates how we view and deal with ourselves, circumstances, people, and everything down to our patterns of thought.

Gods methods are so far opposite the worlds it is ridiculous.  When we follow those methods it should be apparent that we are different. To the point of appearing as fools that is the looks of our construction to those who do not know Him. Christians are afraid of that. So what do they do? They conform to the world in such a way that they can switch the Jesus thing on and off or they put themselves in safe environments and coddling of other believers. The world says to relax and unwind, watch a movie, listen to music, it will make you feel good instead of in exhaustion or distress turning to prayer, or intimate time with the Lord.  Life is not about us, and so many times we could give more to the Lord of who we are than what we actually do.  It is not a matter of God not allow us to experience Him it is a matter of us not letter ourselves experience God.

We need to rip the posters of our false definitions from the walls to reveal and live in what truly defines us….Christ…

I will end on one of my favorite passages in regards to worldliness and living in Christ. The church of Corinth experienced what a lot of us experience today. So just as Paul was speaking to them, He still speaks through those words to us. Read it, think it, act it…

1st Corinthians 4 (ESV)

“4:1 This is how one should regard us, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God. 2 Moreover, it is required of stewards that they be found trustworthy. 3 But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you or by any human court. In fact, I do not even judge myself. 4 For I am not aware of anything against myself, but I am not thereby acquitted. It is the Lord who judges me. 5 Therefore do not pronounce judgment before the time, before the Lord comes, who will bring to light the things now hidden in darkness and will disclose the purposes of the heart. Then each one will receive his commendation from God.

6 I have applied all these things to myself and Apollos for your benefit, brothers,  that you may learn by us not to go beyond what is written, that none of you may be puffed up in favor of one against another. 7 For who sees anything different in you? What do you have that you did not receive? If then you received it, why do you boast as if you did not receive it?

8 Already you have all you want! Already you have become rich! Without us you have become kings! And would that you did reign, so that we might share the rule with you! 9 For I think that God has exhibited us apostles as last of all, like men sentenced to death, because we have become a spectacle to the world, to angels, and to men. 10 We are fools for Christ’s sake, but you are wise in Christ. We are weak, but you are strong. You are held in honor, but we in disrepute. 11 To the present hour we hunger and thirst, we are poorly dressed and buffeted and homeless, 12 and we labor, working with our own hands. When reviled, we bless; when persecuted, we endure; 13 when slandered, we entreat. We have become, and are still, like the scum of the world, the refuse of all things.

14 I do not write these things to make you ashamed, but to admonish you as my beloved children. 15 For though you have countless guides in Christ, you do not have many fathers. For I became your father in Christ Jesus through the gospel. 16 I urge you, then, be imitators of me. 17 That is why I sent you Timothy, my beloved and faithful child in the Lord, to remind you of my ways in Christ,  as I teach them everywhere in every church. 18 Some are arrogant, as though I were not coming to you. 19 But I will come to you soon, if the Lord wills, and I will find out not the talk of these arrogant people but their power. 20 For the kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in power. 21 What do you wish? Shall I come to you with a rod, or with love in a spirit of gentleness?”

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

