Little Wonders . . .

Days like today remind me to think God that happiness does not always have to be a manifestation of joy.  The source of our joy should be intellectual understanding more than it should be emotional recognition. Interesting how the key components to human beings are knowledge, emotion, and experience. We could never decipher our emotions, experiences, or anything else without first the ability to know. Not only does what we know impact and determine our actions it also makes or breaks our source of joyfulness. Today for example I am not feeling so hot.  I know that God is active in my life and all the things I have in Him. The reality of it is despite how I feel I know that He is working in and through me. Because I understand Him as my source of joy it help combats my flesh whose goal is to distract me from such.  If we give in to listening to our side of the flesh we are susceptible to being convinced we are something that is inconsistent from our position in Christ. Furthermore when we believe a lie we are going to feel the lies. Just because my emotions tell me I do have joy does not mean I am not joyful.  Listening to my feelings might suggest I am a failure, when in Christ I am a success. Emotions and feelings almost seem to have a contract with the flesh to contradict the things we have and are in the Spirit. As we call those things out and reveal them they may go away for the moment, then again they may remain. Sometimes I believe God allows us to deal with those emotions as a means to grow us, because the best way of growth is through experience. Allowing our dependence to be on Him when what we feel challenges what we know is a tremendous trial of opportunity for grow. What we know to be true through His word and our experience will always outrank those lies. So whether or not we want to play victim to our deceitful feelings, or advocate to who we are in Christ, we are given that choice.  How much do we really want that freedom?

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

