House Divided…

The worst thing we could ever do to ourselves is limit our understanding. Not only does it limit how we view ourselves but also how we view God.  As Christians we have been given the amazing ability to understand the deeper truths of the universe. Unfortunately at the same time the sheer scale of it all causes a lot to seek refuge within the confines of human composed absolutes. In all reality these absolutes are undoubtedly fabrications of ignorance granting the believer a drug to quote unquote have it all  figured out.

 

God interacts with people at different time in different ways. That is a fact. Ask anyone who is a fellow sibling in Christ and not one will be being or have been met in the same fashion. Of course there are going to be similarities and important truths, but the methods in which God conveys them varies vastly from person to person. One habit that may work for me in my walk with God, may not for someone else, and vice versa.

 

Comparing our lives to others is risky business, and I am not talking about an eighties Tom Cruise movie either.  What God is doing in another person’s life is something that will and can be only fully understood by them. Grasping it may take place to a degree, however lack of firsthand experience means, that while we understand, the same potentially will work in a different way for us. And there is nothing wrong with that. All comparison gives weight to is self focus and a skewed method of attempting to gauge our life.

 

Past experiences in life have shown me that I am susceptible to this myself. Recently an outside party took it upon their self  to do just that. Knowing I am bi polar they took their experiences with other bi polar people, as well as their own, and compare me to them. With that this person, who had found freedom, or so they say, told me I was not fully living in the joy of the Lord due to my taking of medication. With that it progressed into an accusation of trust in the Lord and possible lack thereof.  The stereotypes of how things like this are mental and not physical and so on and so forth just do not amount to an adequate assessment of what actually is happening. By limiting our view of God and how He works in others lives places both ourselves and God in a box and a false sense certainty in what we perceive as definite.  Did this person possibly have good intentions? Yes. But at the same time even as Christians we are still human and prone to error and ignorance in how we deal with ourselves as well as others. We all have our things we suck at and the brilliant thing is that we have Christ who makes us suck less and less everyday in Him.

 

As I do with everything this brought me to a point of thinking. What did this encounter signify and or mean? Not only did it convict me in my own comparison of myself to others it taught me a lot about God and His interactions with Him. I am Bi Polar. I am not ashamed to state that and most of you know that as it is. God did a tremendous work through my experiences of this imbalance. I tried everything possible and what it came down to was a need for medication. As such the Lord provided that and since has brought me to a place I never thought I would be. Could God have healed me from it and taken it away? Of course He could have He is God for crying out loud! Did He? No? But where is it my place, or anyone’s for that matter to say just because He did not, I am out of His will. Quite honestly that answer is crap. I believed that long enough to know how ignorant it is. My place is not to determine whether or not I personally think the trials in my life are good for me and leads one realize a lot of the things we view as bad for us, are really just difficult things meant to grow us. Without a doubt I believe being bi polar can do miles more good than what it did bad. Because it does not define me, I am not bound to it, and the Lord can use it just as much as He can use someone who is not. We have a choice in how we respond to our circumstances to do we choose the flesh and become hindered or choose the Spirit and grown?

 

God is meeting us all in so many ways and that’s brilliant! As we minister to each other and discern His ministry to us our responsibility is to remain open in understanding and closed to comparison. Each person and experience will all be different and despite similarities we have to live in what defines us and that is Christ. When we fully to that then and only then will we be effective at full capacity. We did not lose the yoke , we were just given a lighter load to bear. He is with with so do with move forward or just drag our feet?

 

My definition, our definition,  is in Christ and Christ alone, nothing, or no one else. . .

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

