Why I Write…

Yesterday while speaking to a friend of mine she told me a story of something that had happened to her that day, and it really put into perspective why I write.  As she was out and about she say a woman with a sign that said “Will work for food.” So my friend made a mental note to pray for that lady and did just that when she began to think about what she was doing. Recently I had written a post that I discussed with her about a part of James 2 and how we are to act upon our faith not just state it. With that my rant moved into the realms of our Christian empty gesture known as “I’ll be praying for you.” More often than not we use that as a means of making ourselves to feel as if we have done something without doing anything. In all reality there is at some point in our days times that we can go that extra mile. Even myself having nothing I can take that extra step to actually help someone aside from saying that I will pray for them. So having discussed this the day before it was fresh in her mind and lead her to question her decision to pass the lady by. Telling herself she would help if the woman were still there when she returned, the lady was in fact still remained sign and all. After taking this woman grocery shopping my friend made the discovery this person was also a believer, and before she could pray with the woman the woman began praying for her. Being a new believer and someone who is disabled who knows the interaction this sister in Christ has with other believers. For all we know she is surrounded by people who “pray” for her but do not actually do anything. I am not one to speculate and do not want to make assumptions but this story just absolutely struck a chord with me. Salvation is not works but growth and development of our faith and walk with Christ is. If we ever want to move out of this “comfortable Christianity” we have to be (Geeky Indiana Jones reference in 5. 4. 3. 2. 1. Indiana Jones reference now.) Indiana Jones and jump from the head of the lion. Our faith requires us doing something about it. I cannot just sit around hoping or thinking about finding a job or food, I have to use what resources I do have to take that step of faith and trust that God is going to provide however He sees fit.

 

This story my friend told me finally gave me some clarity about why I write. These words, these posts, all of it, it is all for His glory not mine. If anyone is impacted by what I write or do it is because of Him and in no way me. He is the artist and I am merely His tool. When we allow Him to use us others, whether we realize it or not will be impacted.  I believer firmly in my heart that words are one of the most powerful mediums in existence, and God’s Word doubly so. Words can hurt, heal, make us laugh, bring tears whether of joy or sadness, and all around and a power to them that are incomprehensible. As I reckon God’s Word with my life, I have been given the privilege and ability to present those things, and whether it is encouragement to some, therapy to me, or  insight to others, as I said before it is all to , for, and through Him. Maybe I am a good writer, maybe I am not, but whether one or the other, I praise Him and thank Him for the desire and ability.

 

This is why I write. Unless our theology and faith is reckoned with how we live and act we are only the sum of half a person….

 

Thanks for reading…

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Write…

  1. robertjank says:

    Hey Chris, just wanted to say i really enjoyed this post of your. You make some really good points and even gave me shivers as i to realized the truth of you were saying. So many times we say and never really do anything. weather it be for some else or our selves. thanks again for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

