Moving Right Along…

I love to write. Whenever I write there is no point in my day that feels closer to God. Writing allows me to express everything I think exactly how I am thinking it. God and I, one on one, no distraction, no noise, Him and I in fellowship and communication together. Awesomely enough if the debris of that fellowship means others being impacted and encouraged, then that is an added bonus and factor of ministry. How amazing is it to realize that things we never intended to be more than an expression of our walk God can impact not only ourselves but those around us?

 

Two years ago I wrote a paper on God’s omnipresence. As I reviewed seeing what I knew then the drive to rewrite it knowing what I know now was almost irresistible. So being compelled to do so I did just that. I present to you the attribute of God I chose to write on. Remember I wrote this two years ago so if it is heresy try not to riff me too bad.

 

 

As a believer and not, I have had the privilege of seeing many things pertaining to the attributes of God. One attribute I have seen to be particularly prevalent is the omnipresence of God. God’s omnipresence is a brilliant trait in regards to believers, but to unbelievers can be a quality of terror that eventually will not be evaded. God’s omnipresence is eternal, ancient ancient and new, seeing everything that has been, that will be, things still happening, and what never shall. For believers His omnipresence is a source of comfort however for unbelievers is an idea to be feared.

 

Over the course of my life I have experienced many times of loneliness almost to the point of seeming unbearable. Reflecting on the past to the point before I was a Christian I am convinced that many times beyond count God was there to comfort me. My home life growing up was less than ideal. My parents were divorced before I was born leading up to my father disappearing when I was the age of nine. Abandonment was the template I associated with fathers and one that every once in a while resurfaces as a struggle. As far as my mother , being bi polar , unmedicated and undiagnosed she resented me and would eventually marry my step father. His abuse was as strong if not stronger making them quite the team. Had I said it did not effect me I would be lying , however at times of severe loneliness there would often be a presence of extreme comfort as if the fight was not fought in vain nor alone.

 

Realization of that comfort I had known throughout my life and it being God came as I began walking in my position of Christ. Memories at times resurface allowing me to see that impacting me even now. Some would say it was all luck, fortunately for me I do not believe in luck. With every fiber of my being I know the Lord pulled me through those things and ultimately bringing me to the point I am at today.

 

Growing up anger was an emotion I frequently expressed at God and yet even in the most dire of circumstances comfort would emerge. At times I was running from God. Several instances it seemed as though God had been calling me to Him and yet I ran, running so far, but in all that He still remained there for me. Even though I did not have an earthly father I had God the Father, creator of time, space, existence, and literally everything. Whether in times of disbelief or certainty this being cared about me. After being so alone, so abandoned, how could someone be there for me in such a way constantly and consistently? Surely He had better things to do. My conception of God was very small and ever now as a believer knowing what I know now, in terms of all that God is my view remains tiny. What I do know is that whatever the circumstance, grim or hopeful, He is there for me regardless the situation.

 

God’s omnipresence is merely one attribute to the brilliant character of God and what a quality that He possesses. All throughout Scripture God’s omnipresent occurs over and over from Adam, down to Paul. He is there offering constant comfort and reassurance especially to those who believe in Him. Even when one is not walking with God He is still the to comfort and reassure. We may not always respond appropriately to Him or what He has for us , and that is where we have to deny our flesh and accept the promises positional truth has to offer. Our flesh is no longer what defines us nor is it what we are bound to.

 

A good portion of what little positivity I grew up with happened to be my grandparents who were believers. At the varying points of death loneliness returned and engulfed my life. Being a new believer I was still prone to those feelings of abandonment and as if everyone continued to leave me. Throughout all of this I knew I was not alone. Did it hurt yes? But the assurance I never fully had when I was an unbeliever came to me and I knew He was there.  As I said before God’s omnipresence is abundant in comfort and reassurance to the point that our minds cannot even fathom how much it fully entails.

 

1st Peter 5:7 conveys a message of giving our anxieties or worries to God because He cares for us. This is a great passage on the Omnipresence of God and the privilege we have of the ability to give our problems to Him. He loves us so much that He wants to take our burdens and fears while providing comfort in times of uncertainty, doubt, and fear. Romans 8:31 brilliant shows us that when everyone and everything is against us. Does that mean will will constantly be happy and excited. Not at all. Awesomely enough though, against what we feel, our relationship with Him allows us to stick to what we know against what we feel. God is there for us always even when all of existence is against us.

 

Psalm 139:7-10 talks about God being in all places at all times. Wherever we go, whatever we do we cannot escape Him and at the same time He will never leave us. For unbelievers the same is true, unfortunately upon death they will not experience the same joy of being in eternity as what those who believed will. So in the same sense they cannot escape Him either but eventually their denial will end in His wrath and judgment. As comforting and assuring that believing is the opposite effects come as a result of not believing. Our hearts should break for those who do not believe and miss experiencing what we do, having that position in Christ and relationship with God.

 

My love for the Lord continues to grow deeper and deeper as I know and experience Him and His love further. He has been there for me when no one else was. Every waking moment we should realize the gravity and privilege of what being able  to be in Christ , having that relationship, and the sanity from such is. Unbelievers and even those believers not walking with Him who go through similar things in life that I or others have are not as fortunate. Because of their dependency being upon their selves, or the reality of sin, they have been driven to insanity or even death. By continuing the cycle that was bestowed upon them because of sin the commit the same tings upon others or worse. God’s omnipresence is brilliant beyond the expression of words and even right now at this very moment I thank Him for it.

About Chronology of Chris

-In Christ -Student of Life, Theology, Philosophy and Education -Avid reader (C.S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, Francis Schaeffer, James Sire, Martin Luther, Luis de Molina, Gordon D. Fee, David R. Anderson, David Kinnaman, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jean Paul Sartre, Soren Kierkegaard, etc.) -Amateur philosopher -Field researcher for this privilege called life -Defined not labelled -Silly, yet serious -Knowledgeable and experienced -People over facts( facts have their place), souls over figures -More than an "about me" box can contain -His will, not mine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

